Museums & Galleries

Featured on this page:

Carnegie Center for Art & History, New Albany, IN

Copper Moon Gallery, New Albany, IN

Culbertson Mansion, New Albany, IN

Division Street School, New Albany, IN

Falls of the Ohio Interpretative Center, Clarksville, IN

Gadabout Gallery & Artisan Shoppe, Jeffersonville, IN

Howard Steamboat Museum, Jeffersonville, IN

Vintage Fire Museum, Jeffersonville, IN

Historic Tunnel Mill Living History Center


 

Carnegie Center for Art & History

Carnegie Center for Art and History

The Carnegie Center for Art and History is a local history museum and contemporary art gallery. Housed in a refurbished and re purposed Carnegie Library building the Center offers visitors the opportunity to enjoy art works in a variety of media and to learn more about the process of creative expression through a range of exhibitions and programs for all ages. The center is home to an award-winning multimedia exhibit on the Underground Railroad.

201 E Spring St, New Albany, IN 47150
(812) 944-7336
www.carnegiecenter.org


Copper Moon Gallery

 Copper Moon Gallery
Copper Moon Gallery features original and handcrafted American artwork- paintings, pottery, jewelry, and other exquisite pieces. Named “Best Art Gallery” by the Louisville A-List.
221 Pearl St., New Albany, IN
(812) 944-4079

Culbertson Mansion

Culbertson Mansion

With its hand-painted ceilings, carved rosewood staircase, marble fireplaces and crystal chandeliers, the Culbertson Mansion reflects the affluence of a man once considered to be the wealthiest in Indiana. In 1867, William S. Culbertson spent about $120,000 to build his grand home in New Albany. The three-story French, Second-Empire mansion encompasses more than 20,000 square feet and contains 25 rooms and is operated by the Indiana Historic Bureau.

914 E Main St, New Albany, IN 47150
(812) 944-9600
www.indianamuseum.org


Division Street School

Division Street School

The Division Street School in New Albany, Indiana, was added to the United States National Register of Historic Places, in 2002. It was one of the first elementary schools for black children in the region, with construction beginning in June 1884, and the opening in 1885. It was moved by thirty feet westward in 1922. It was untouched by the Ohio River flood of 1937. It operated as a school until May 1946, while segregation still took place; those students still attended were assigned to Griffin Street School. From 1946 until 1948 it was a Veterans Administration Office. It was then used as a maintenance shop for the New Albany/Floyd County School Corporation until 1999. After restoration, it is now used for various community activities.

1803 Conservative St, New Albany, IN 47150
Phone: (812) 941-0820


Falls of the Ohio Interpretive Center

 Falls of the Ohio Interpretive Center

Located on the banks of the Ohio River in Clarksville, Indiana is the Falls of the Ohio State Park. The 390-million-year-old fossil beds are among the largest, naturally exposed, Devonian fossil beds in the world. The park’s newly renovated Interpretive Center overlooks the fossil beds and contains a hands-on, interactive exhibit gallery. Fossil hikes and canoeing are dependent on river levels and weather conditions.  Contact the park office for optimal times and planned outdoor events.

201 W Riverside Dr, Clarksville, IN 47129

(812) 280-9970

www.fallsoftheohio.org


Gadabout Gallery & Artisan Shoppe

Gadabout 1

Gadabout Gallery and Artisan Shoppe in “Hipstoric” Jeffersonville, IN features high quality, handmade work from artists throughout Indiana and Kentucky.

249 Spring St., Jeffersonville, IN 47130
(812) 913-1716
www.gadaboutgallery.com

 


Howard Steamboat Museum

Howard Steamboat Museum

Step back in time to the Great Steamboat Era with a tour of the Howard Steamboat Museum. This beautiful 1894 home, built by premier steamboat builders, the Howards of Jeffersonville, features original furnishings, brass chandeliers, stained glass windows, and intricate carvings throughout and even a grand staircase!

The mission of the Museum is to preserve the Howard family story, their mansion and the history of their shipyards and to foster an appreciation of the development of river steamboats and commerce along inland rivers.

1101 E Market St, Jeffersonville, IN 47130
(812) 283-3728
www.HowardSteamboatMuseum.org 

 


Vintage Fire Museum

 Vintage Fire 2

Beginning as the personal collection of New Albany business owner, Fred Conway, the Vintage Fire Museum collection is comprised of many beautiful restored fire engines, hand pumpers, chemical engines, horse-drawn steamers, early motorized engines, and other firefighting equipment dating back to 1756. 

The Vintage Fire Museum also features a room on regional firefighting history, an area honoring firefighters who have given their lives in fighting fires, and a Fire Safety Education Center suitable for children and school group tours.  For more information about this unique and nationally-acclaimed firefighting collection, visit: www.vintagefiremuseum.org 

The Vintage Fire Museum is open:
Fridays 11-4 p.m., Saturdays, 10- 5 p.m.

Prices:
Adults: $6; Seniors: $5 (60 and over), Firefighters: $5; Children: $2 ages 3-15. Children 3 and younger FREE with adult or senior admission
Membership:
Cost is $25 per year for an individual and $40 for a family.  Membership includes free entry to the museum, reduced prices for special events, and reduced prices for gift store items.  A family membership also allows grandchildren free museum entry.

723 Spring Street, Jeffersonville, IN  47130
812-948-8711

www.vintagefiremuseum.org  


 Historic Tunnel Mill Living History Center

Tunnel Mill John Work house

Early Indiana pioneer, John D. Work, built the magnificent brick home in 1811 that overlooks the grounds and Fourteen Mile Creek in Charlestown. The mill he built, and the man-made 300 ft. tunnel which supplied water to the mill, “Tunnel Mill,” are now a living history center—a hands-on museum dedicated to re-creating the past, and preserving historic skills and trades. Special events held at Tunnel Mill include a reenactment of the Battle at Tunnel Mill, The Legend of Sleepy Hollow, Christmas Candlelight tours, and Twelfth Night Party.

Tours of the John Work House are free during normal hours, Thursday-Sunday, 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Closed for the winter, January 9 – April 18th. For classes or workshop opportunities, call: 812-606-1264 or email:  nlogsdon@att.net.

www.historictunnelmill.org